Tags

, , ,

I don’t know how this happened, but I have a new yarn obsession.
Speckles Collage 1
For a while, I wanted everything tonal. Then I went on a stripey sock yarn kick. Then back to tonals and solids. But out of nowhere, it changed again. Dots? Flecks? Speckles? Whatever you call them, I want them!

It might have started here, with a gorgeous shawl, and where the Fancy Tiger blog showed off all these exciting speckled Madtosh colorways in that photo down at the bottom. I have traditionally loved Madtosh yarns (though I have too much merino light, which is single ply), but speckles? Sign me up!

It also might have started here, with the lovely speckled socks that Susan B. Anderson is working on pictured down toward the bottom of the post.

Whatever it was, soon I had a skein of MadTosh merino in Holi Festival, and one of merino light in Modern Fair Isle from Purl. I had some purple speckles from The Lemonade Shop on Etsy, and some Koigu from .

Speckles Collage 2And it didn’t end there. My mom picked up some speckly Knit One, Crochet Too in Ty-Dy Dots for me for the holidays, and then it was only a matter of time before I stumbled on some blue speckled Lamby Toes on Etsy, and the stripey AND speckled Republic of Wool (also on Etsy, by way of instagram).

2015/01/img_0778.jpgBut it does end there. Putting everything away, separating out the yarn that’s earmarked for gifts in the future, stash diving for yarn for gifts – I have so much yarn. I have the striping sock yarn from when I was obsessed with it, and tonal fingering weights – socks and shawls for years. I have a whole pile of sock yarn that I’ve been hoarding for holiday socks for my dad and my father-in-law, but at this point I’m good for the next several years of holidays. My record for sweaters is a couple in a couple years, but I have yarn for five sweaters just sitting and waiting. It’s time to knit down the stash.

