What makes some parts of knitting take so much longer than others? Is it laziness, or bad habit, or just something that all knitters do?

20140122-211944.jpg

Here is a pile of mittens – except that all of them are missing something. Thumbs! It happens like that every time. No matter how hard I promise myself that I’ll do each thumb as soon as I finish the rest, it turns out that I’ll go so far as knitting a second pair of mittens to avoid finishing up the thumbs. Usually it’s weaving in ends that kills me and adds a week to each project, but except for those dangling bits of waste yarn I’m holding the thumb, all the ends are woven in. Hello procrastination.

20140122-212956.jpg

And hello sock feet. I love starting a new sock (once the cuff is over). The leg always goes so fast, especially if there’s a lace repeat or stripes or a cable; and turning the heel is a little bit magical to me. But the foot? Takes forever. It’s worst when I’m knitting for C or one of our fathers, but even with my relatively small shoe size, knitting the foot for socks for me takes ages longer than it should.

20140122-214825.jpg

And sleeves. It’s not the second sleeve for me, it’s all the sleeves. This is the first sleeve for a baby sweater I started a month ago. It’s worsted weight yarn on size 7 needles, and it should barely have taken me any time at all – but it’s taking me forever.

Anyone else have strange things that they procrastinate on in their knitting?

