Tags

, , , , ,

What was it about this pattern? The houndstooth stitch pattern that demanded I knit it right away? The yarn that practically jumped from my stash into my hands? The need for tea and something warm to ward off the cold, early dark of the late autumn days?

Baskerville Cowl

Whatever the reason, the Cowl of the Baskervilles was knit up almost as soon as I thought about it – perfect for staying cozy, whether it’s during a New England December or while solving mysteries and wandering the moors. The oversized cowl knits up super-fast with bulky yarn and would look great on men or women in almost any color combination. The faux seams running down the sides add a touch of interest, the colorwork is striking in the larger yarn and simple to knit (and memorize), and the double layer of wooly goodness adds extra warmth.

front of the Baskerville Cowl

This cowl happened nearly by accident. Between the shawl I made for my friend’s grandmother and the pile of partly-knit items that still needed to be knit for the holidays, I was feeling just a little overwhelmed with all the yarn that had to become things in time to be blocked and dried and wrapped and given. I didn’t exactly lose my head – but I did knit something that wasn’t only not on the to-knit list, but which existed up until that time only in my head. For a few nights after work, I watched the strands of bulky yarn grow into a cowl on the needles and imagined all the other knits I should have been working on (none of them in such large yarn) working up just as quickly. Soon, though, I was knitting for the cowl itself, imagining how cozy the double layer of bulky yarn would be once it was finished.

Baskerville Cowl detail

The Cowl of the Baskervilles  is knit in the round, and the simple colorwork would be a great learning pattern for someone new to stranded colorwork. The cowl is just right for this time of year — whether you need a quick knit to give, or a warm treat for yourself. Enjoy!

Download the Cowl of the Baskervilles:
pdf icon

Check out the Cowl of the Baskervilles on Ravelry:

