Tags

, , ,

This past holiday season, my puppy decided to derail my holiday knitting by eating the couple inches of cuff and leg of the second sock I was knitting for my dad, along with my favorite bamboo double-pointed needles. I finished in time anyway.

But after a close call like that one, I needed a different kind of knit to work on. Something with squooshy yarn, nice texture, and not too complicated a stitch pattern. Something not in sock yarn. Something cozy. And yet, there I sat, knitting socks.

Col Mustard Socks

These were not sock-yarn, gift socks though. I’d found a squishy, superwash dk weight yarn in a mustardy color, and was knitting them on size 3 needles for my husband, who waited patiently through the holidays while I knit socks for all of our parents not allergic to wool (read: my parents and his dad). I figured he was owed some socks, so we recovered from the holiday season with leftovers and Netflix and reading on the couch. It was watching the movie Clue that inspired me to name the socks I was working on and write up a pattern to go with. Straightforward, warm, stretchy enough to fit plenty of foot sizes, these socks are perfect for Colonel Mustard, or for the person in your life who deserves a soft pair of wool socks.

Col Mustard heelKnit from the cuff down, with a heel flap and kitchener toe, these garter rib socks are just the ticket for a quick gift, for after the holiday frenzy, or for a last pair of socks before it finally warms up for the season. Enjoy!

Download the Colonel Mustard Socks:
pdf icon

Check out the Colonel Mustard Socks on Ravelry:

